Forever re-hashing….

When do you realise that enough is enough? I’m not talking about Chocolate or Wine (There will never be enough of these). No, I’m talking about writing. I’ve planned my story, I’ve met my characters, in fact there already crashing on the couch flicking through the discovery channels…..  I’ve written my 1st chapter, or I think I have… then I go back to it, change a bit, add a bit more. Then I go back again……………….

I don’t know how it works for any one else, is there a light bulb moment? A moment when a voice bellows in your head “Step away from the Lap Top”. 

So here is the latest re-hashing of my 1st chapter and any tips or feedback greatly appreciated. 🙂

14 thoughts on “Forever re-hashing….

  1. Move on to the second one!
    I find the Nanowrimo method the best, for myself. Keep writing until you get to the end of the story and never ever ever stop for edits, especially the first chapter, because by the time you get to the end of the story, and you’re happy with it, the first chapter might not even make sense anymore.
    Good luck!

      • What happened in my case was that I found my main character was far more grown up and mature than I believed her to be at the beginning. Though I didn’t change the story, I had to change her voice.
        Characters are really unpredictable sometimes!

    • A different angle, goes to show everyone’s different 🙂 I always feel like I can’t move on till I’m happy with what I’ve written. It keeps niggling at me, and I can’t let go. I suppose the more involved I get with the story the more I’ll learn to explore different techniques. Either that or I’ll end up losing the use of my fingers…..

  2. I agree with Jenn to some degree. I can’t do the NaNoWriMo thing because I am too much the perfectionist. Yet, I am also a tad undisciplined. My juices start flowing and I can write for 16 hours a day five days a week. Then I run out of steam, and can’t write for days into weeks. I have a really hard time saying, “I am going to write on this for two hours each day this month. It doesn’t work like that for me. Also, if I couldn’t do some revisions and some editing along the way I would be so overwhelmed in the end that I would not know where to start. I have heard of people saying that they spent 7 to 10 years on one novel. (sometimes they are working on three at a time). Not me, i have to focus on one literary work and get her done. I wrote my novel with utmost passion starting on April 12th, 2012, and finishing it on July 08, 2012. I did four edits and then put it on the shelf for a year. Then, after sharing it with a friend, I had three more edits done (professionals for proofing, no copyediting), condensed the first the chapters into one (created flaws). Then I published the eversion March 28, 2013. Now I am doing yet another revision, sent it to a copyeditor and got some feedback to make improvements before handing the text over to createspace for a paperback print on demand version. I am a perfectionist. It will never be enough. It will never be perfect. Editing sucks!

    • Thanks for looking over. I know what you mean about sometimes you just keep writing. I’m like that at the moment. I think if I don’t carry on I’ll lose the momentum, any excuse for not doing the ironing or the washing up, lol. Plus I’m so used to writing shorts that I keep looking for a finish every few pages! I also feel a bit of a fake, I’m not a clever writer, my story is a chick lit – throw away type of read and the stuff that’s my own guilty pleasure, lol. Big congrats to you for getting our there, I’m going to download yours from Kindle, you can inspire me…. 🙂

  3. Mine is creative but not formulaic writing. You may want to wait until I get that revised more cohesive first chapter up before you download. It is up to you. I have already decided that you are a very clever writer, so don’t go throwing yourself in the waste basket before you get out of the box good! You will feel more confident as time goes by and you start to see it come together.

  4. I should have it finished today or tomorrow and once the text is submitted to Amazon it will only take a few hours to go live. Then, smashwords will get it, but that takes a lot longer to load to Apple, B&N Kobo and others.

    • I am still waiting for my mockups to be approved with createspace, only then can I upload the new MS text for the paperback. The typical reader has no clue how hard we authors work to make things right for them, That is one reason I refuse to take my book down to bargain prices, even when it doesn’t sell. I plan to reduce the eversion by $1.00 when the paperback comes out.

Leave a Reply

