I thought I saw you……..

This was for a story / poem prompt  for the fabulous Community Storyboard   “Write about a stranger you see.  Either their back-story or what they are thinking in the moment you see them.”   I thought I’d make a stab at poetry this morning. I adapted it from an earlier prompt  but ‘Alleluia’ it fits in for today as well.  I’m having a lazy Saturday, I’m bad…..

 

I thought I saw you in the corner by the chair,

Were you the one with the fair golden hair?

I thought I saw you as your eyes glanced my way,

Did you see me watching, did you feel me sway?

I thought I saw you as you turned from the crowd,

The beat of my heart was it really that loud?

I thought I saw you as you moved to my side,

Your breath just a whisper you couldn’t quite hide.

I thought I saw you as your hand brushed my skin,

Could you feel the air sizzle, was it going to begin?

I thought I saw you gesture and bid me to follow,

Is this where the fullness replaces the hollow?

I thought I saw you when my eyes closed for sleep,

Are you the belonging I wanted to keep?

I thought I saw you on other nights too,

A stranger in the darkness. I loved you, I knew.

10 thoughts on “I thought I saw you……..

  1. Lovely. The repetition of ‘I thought I saw you’ is hypnotic, and adds to what I feel is the dreamlike quality of this poem. I’ve inserted the odd bit of poetry into my repertoire of late. Sometimes, I find it easier… You should try more!

Leave a Reply

