Where Did All Those Summers Go?

Where did all those summers go, the ones we left behind.

Daisy chains and apple trees and lemonade with limes.

Honey bees and fireflies and hidden treasures of every kind,

From pirate ships to fairy glens, we shared them all those happy times.

Summers came around anew and we soon forgot those childhood things.

Broken hearts and painted nails and lemonade with wine.

High heeled shoes and rah-rah skirts and teenage boys were kings,

From classroom winks to bike shed flings, we shared them all those happy times.

Summers came and went each year; we kept in touch by mail or phone.

Late night meetings and office drinks and lemonade with gin.

Pinstripe suits and perfect hair and lines to show the years had flown.

From CEO to Chief of Staff, we shared them all those happy times.

Where did all those summers go, the ones I long to find.

Lonely tears and silent pain and lemonade not touched.

A graveyard stone and flowers new are all I now can leave behind,

You’ll always mean the world to me; we shared them all those happy times.

csb-featured-post

16 thoughts on “Where Did All Those Summers Go?

  1. I liked the way that you went all inclusive here. I so miss the summers of my youth. I have gotten old and crotchety now, and don’t like sand in my suit. I go hang out with the baggy saggy naturists at the pool and don’t even do the beach much anymore. i used to find summers a lot more fun. I seek the air conditioner now and look for reasons to stya at home.

  2. “You’ll always mean the world to me” ~ …Ever just read a line and have tears jump out of your face? ~ This is really great. ~ Bill

Leave a Reply

