We’ll Always Have That Summer

Here is the second collaboration between the very talented Richard Ankers and myself. Check his fab stuff out, it’s great 🙂

Richard M. Ankers - Author

Here is the second of the two poetic duets done with the super fabulous Helen Midgley at https://helenmidgley.wordpress.com/. I hope you enjoy this as much as I enjoyed writing it with her.

Helens poem

The summer had passed
And with it the verdant hues of new life
The bronze tones of autumn fell gently about me
And the blank purity of snow lay on the horizon

I watched you leave
And walk away unsheathed from shackled ties
The scent of you a blanket shield against the winter glare
And I’m saved from what my heartache brings for just a second more

So much promise had there been for you and I
In cherry blossom kisses and the sap of an English summer
And as you rescinded slowly beyond the falling sycamore leaves
I felt my heart should fall too and turned away from so short a love

Yet I cannot fear…

View original post 89 more words

Leave a Reply

