Warning Sign

Time again for the highly compulsive Friday Fictioneers. A 100 word photo prompt from the ever creative Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. Have a look at the other 100 or so addicted creations offered up each week.

trespass_randy_mazie-1

Some memories linger; leaving a taste, a scent or a trace of something more. Others fade into the ether, tiny particles of nothing that float in the air. It was easy to forget the nights they ate tapas or the charm of the old quarter. The feel of warm sand that glistened under-foot or the balmy scented moonlight that promised so much more. It was harder to forget the tears and recriminations, the gunshot that pierced his chest, the sirens, the headlines and the jury of twelve. If only he’d seen the sign hanging across her cold blackened heart – No Trespassing.

29 thoughts on “Warning Sign

  1. i like this take on the prompt.. the idea of the no trespassing sign on someone’s heart. all those wonderful things they got going on at the beginning, made me feel sorry for your protagonist

  2. I am awarding you the Blog of the Year Award 2013 as an expression of my gratitude for following “The Journal of Wall Grimm” blog. You can see the post here: http://wp.me/p41c99-hx If you don’t accept awards, that’s no problem at all. Awarding you is my way to thank you and it is of no insult to me if you decline.

      • You’re welcome! I don’t accept them on my other blog because they can be overwhelming. I just post that I got them and add them to my award page. So I understand if you do nothing with it, believe me. And thank you 🙂

  3. Really, there’s so much under the surface of this story. Obsession, violence, love/lust unrequited? And memories that “fade into the ether, tiny particles of nothing that float in the air.” Such a beautiful line.
    I like this story’s ambiguity and almost abstract nature — a memory.

  4. I’ve read this atmospheric tale a few times. Your lead character’s looking back. A jealous psycho lover kills her new love so he can’t have any other relationship? I like my interpretation anyway! Lovely ambience and language use.

Leave a Reply

