Waiting For The Bell To Ring

Time again for Friday Fictioneers. A weekly 100 word photo prompt hosted by the lovely Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. Why not join the 100 + equally addicted participants every week. Just follow the link to have a go..

david-stewart

 

There will always be time for regret,

When the bell is calling us home,

Time to remember lost chances,

And time to reflect on our own.

*

There will always be time for apologies,

When no one is there to disturb,

Time to acknowledge our failures,

And time to review and observe.

*

There will always be time for reflection,

When the rain and the storm clouds go,

Time to relinquish the burdens,

And time to share all that we know.

*

So I listen for the bell in the distance,

And I wait for it to call me on home.

46 thoughts on “Waiting For The Bell To Ring

      • Personally, I love that you mix it up and show the various elements of your writing, Helen. There are some writers who I know will give me horror, or mystery, drama… but I like that you throw out different things to keep us interested. πŸ˜€

  1. My mother used to use a bell to call us home for dinner. Your title reminded me of that.

    This poem is deep. I have read it several times; it is so rich with meaning.

  2. Helen your poem had a melodic cadence that seemed to lull me into submission. Like a meditation it settled into my bones there will always be time. This made me hope so. Beautiful!

  3. Helen, the rhythm of this, and the repeated motif of the first lines of each stanza, make this an incredibly effective poem. There. That’s the professional praise. Now, the gushing: omygodilovedthis! Very beautiful, and full of hope.

  4. Beautifully written, Helen. We just do want to procrastinate too long before asking for forgiveness or expressing our love and appreciation. Someday that finally bell will toll to call us home and our time will be no more.

Leave a Reply

