It’s Not Enough

walkaway3

You asked me once,

If this was too much,

This time that we had,

This life that we shared,

I answered you then,

The best that I could,

It was all I that I had,

It was all that I dared,

I battled the feelings,

That kept me confined,

I hid the resentment,

My fate was resigned,

But then came the sun,

And awakened my fire,

Igniting the embers,

That fed my desire,

The warmth of the new,

Exceeded the now,

The heat of the moment,

I had to allow.

*

So if you ask me again,

If this is too much,

I’ll answer you truly,

It’s just not enough.

One thought on “It’s Not Enough

Leave a Reply

