Lately

 

Lately my dreams,

Don’t wait till I sleep,

They pool on my pillow,

Like the tears that I weep,

They open the curtains,

To the demons I slayed,

Giving life to the shadows,

And the battle’s replayed,

*

Lately the memories,

Are too much to bear,

They blanket my heart,

I can feel myself tear,

The night is the baker,

That kneads at the beast,

It feeds on my guilt,

And my blood is its yeast,

*

Lately I waken,

Each morning adrift,

The repose of the blameless,

No longer a gift,

The devil is coming,

And he’s calling my name,

The refuge of daylight,

No shelter from blame.

4 thoughts on “Lately

Leave a Reply

