Stormy Waters

Time again for the weekly sail into Friday Fictioneers, hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. A 100 word piece of fiction based on the photo prompt provided. It may be cold outside but dabble you feet in the water, you’ll soon feel yourself warming up. boatpilxr_-antiqued

Photo Copyright : Georgia Koch

I watch as the skies turn darker, as the mist sweeps in from the shore.  I feel the chill seep into my skin and the tightness take hold of my soul. I know that the tide is turning, that the storm is upsetting the calm, but I can’t stay away from the danger, I can’t accept the alarm.

I drown in a sea of dejection, swallowed up by a swale of regret. Adrift in a small wooden tender, while my oars float off out of sight.

And I know there’s no land on the horizon, we’re just ships that pass in the night.

23 thoughts on “Stormy Waters

  1. Lovely metaphor, quite dark and chilling. I can feel the sense of impending doom coming from your writing.
    I’m trying to decide whether to name your lovely prose/poetry prosetry or poetrose 🙂

  2. Dear Helen,

    Did you know that you were named after the daughter of Hera?

    But about your story. I thought your choice of words adroit and the flow of each sentence smooth. I felt that at the conclusion I was seeing the end of an affair and that tugged at my heart. A wonderful piece and mysterious as well.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  3. Your words are beautiful and this piece is very emotional and mysterious. I’ve read it a few times now trying to figure it out and make sense of it – to give it some literal meaning – and each time I read it I come up with a new meaning. I don’t know why, but the words “while my oars float off out of sight” really have an impact for me. Thank you for this piece.

Leave a Reply

