Hazy

Well, you’re not going to believe this but it’s time for Friday Fictioneers again. “What, it can’t be” you shout, “Oh yes it is” I shout back in my best panto voice. Come on in and tease your feet in the water, you know you want to…… Each week nearly 100 people attempt the 100 word photo prompt hosted by Rochelle Wisoff- Fields.

claire-fuller-2

Photo copyright : Claire Fuller

I see faces I know.  I know them because my heart tells me I do, but my head tells me different.  It’s like my mind’s closed up shop and headed off for the summer.

Across the room sapphire blue eyes beckon me over. I’m safe with ‘blue eyes’, I can feel it. I feel at home.

There’s a girl with wet eyes, she looks at me but doesn’t really see me. I don’t like her, she’s pretty. She’s come to steal ‘blue eyes’.

“Dad, will Mum ever come back?”

‘Blue eyes’ looks at her, then me.

“The doctors don’t know, Honey”

45 thoughts on “Hazy

  1. Really interesting experiment with narration — having the twist come due to interruption by dialogue. Quite clever, darling!
    I’m not writing this week, but I’d love it if you’d drop by my blog for a second anyway, I posted a big announcement today

  2. Helen,
    this is really a unique perspective to take. What a scary thing to be permanently in that state, to be tossed on the seas of sensations and half-remembered images? Great story.
    -David

Leave a Reply

