Waiting

Time again for Friday Fictioneers. A weekly 100 word flash fiction challenge based on an ever changing photo prompt. Well over 100 people drop by each week to join in the fun and the mayhem. Why don’t you?

 

teds-viewPhoto copyright ; Ted Strutz

The lamplight flickered in the lengthening shadows. Pushing the door behind me, I let it fall back on its hinges, closing. The tap, tap, tap of a branch on an opened window, the gurgle and hiss of the radiator pipes; sounds both real and imaginary filled the chasm of fear in my head. I sat myself down on the chair, impatiently drumming my fingers on the faded leather arm. The ferry was still docked at the quayside. Escape beckoned, I could leave. The pain fixed me where I was. There was nothing left to do, except to sit here and wait for the dentist.

18 thoughts on “Waiting

  1. “We’ve all been there,” is a phrase that’s probably over-used and, more than likely, a lie half the time. That said… we’ve all been there.

  2. I’m really late this week, Helen, but glad I had some time today! I really like the way you painted a scene here that builds tension– not different than the actual wait in a dentist’s chair, for many of us, but leaves us in a safe place… waiting. Nice job.

Leave a comment