Barbed Wire Heart

Time again for Friday Fictioneers, graciously hosted by the ever talented Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. A 100 words of fiction based around the photo prompt provided. Follow the link to join the party.

Madison WoodPhoto Copyright: Madison Wood

My heart is caught. I close my eyes and feel the barbed vice tightening across my chest. Every night I see him. I am sure of it. I never see his face or hear him speak, but I know he’s there.  I’m forever chasing shadows, casting lines I can’t reel in. He is in my head. He’s in my dreams.

But dreams are like water, they’re fluid, diluted into thoughts, and thoughts become wants and wants become needs. I want him to be there. I need him to be there.

Because if he’s not,

then he’s gone,

and if he’s gone,

then I’m alone.

19 thoughts on “Barbed Wire Heart

  1. For some reason I’m reading this as a woman being stalked, but her stalker has become so omnipresent and she’s so lonely she’s almost hoping he’s there.
    Great story however you meant it to be read!

  2. I thought here comes a heart attack or a ghost story, I really should have known better. Love the open end, it demands the reader to think.

Leave a Reply

