Cara Brown

I’ve written so little fiction lately, I thought I’d join in the fab Sunday Photo Fiction this morning. 200 words of fiction based around the prompt provided. Follow the link to join in.

cliffs

Cara Brown knew who she was. You could tell by the way that she walked, the way she held her head, looked up at the sky and said bring it on.

I didn’t know where she lived, I don’t think anybody did. She was a bright star we worshipped from afar, never daring to get too close.

Perhaps we were frightened that she wasn’t real; that the dream of her could unravel and shatter into a thousand tiny fragments of disappointment and loss.

But then one day she was gone.

And life seemed that little bit duller. It was as though the main light had been switched off and we were only left with the afterglow.

It was months before the cave was found. Hidden behind large stone boulders, overlapping in such a way to look as if the cave was completely sealed. It wasn’t until you were stood right in front that you actually saw the opening.

Inside they found clothes, cooking pots and a large ornately framed mirror, mottled with age and cracked down the middle.

Charcoal drawings covered the walls, frantic and menacing, each one the face of Cara Brown.

If only the cliffs had eyes…

5 thoughts on “Cara Brown

  1. Fascinating piece. I agree with Angie. You could make this longer of do a part 2. Is Cara actually gone? Or has she found a new hiding place? Or was she kidnapped and has met a grizzly end? Maybe its good not to know. I don’t know. Well written.

  2. I like that. I think we all have someone we don’t want to get too close to in case they vanish because they are a beacon in the dark.

    Good story, and it’s good to see you back Helen.

Leave a comment